Spring Flowers

15 Apr

One of the things that really drove me CRAZY when I was taking pictures of my Happy Easter banner, was my sad little picture sitting in the center of the shelf…Here is another (bad) close up look at it:

I loved the saying I had picked – but beyond that I hated everything about it…the natural color frame definitely didn’t do it justice. My original plan had been to paint the frame anyway, but once I put the picture in to get an idea what it would look like, it wasn’t even worth my while to paint it – it was too boring, and no color paint was going to help. So I reluctantly sat it up there and just left it, hoping that whenever I looked at, I’d feel bad and try to come up with something to put it out of its misery.

Then I got an idea…
Spring Flowers…
The whole point of the saying…

And I got to work.
I used my Cricut to cut out flowers.
TONS of flowers…
I went through every one of my cartridges and cut out every flower I could find…
In lots of colors…
And lots of sizes…

Then I went crazy assembling flowers.
Layer by layer…

Once the flowers were built, I added some extra special touches…
Buttons…
Brads…
Rhinestones…
Glitter glue…

Here is just a small sampling:

After what seemed like forever – but was really only a couple of days – they were done. Next, I went through my secret stash of frames to find something a little more substantial. I found a set of old green frames that had pictures of herbs which used to hang in my kitchen. I took one apart and spray painted a very girly pink:

Now it was back to the flowers, it took some time, but I carefully arranged and rearranged all the flowers around the frame until I liked the way they were placed. Time to start attaching them all to the frame! I wanted a layered look, so for some I used glue dots and attached low to frame, while on others I used foam dots so they’d pop off the frame and add dimension…

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT:

Nothing at all like that sad little saying sitting in that sad little frame on my Easter shelf! Now it’s colorful, substantial and oh so Springy!

I still have a couple of blank areas on the shelf that I’d like to fill in…thoughts are churning in my head as I type…we’ll see if anything comes to fruition before Easter has come and gone. But in the meantime, I can’t help but smile when I look at my new frame on the shelf. 🙂

Enjoy The Party!
Heidi

One Response to “Spring Flowers”

  1. Amanda @ Serenity Now April 17, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    I loooved this project! So colorful and cheerful. 🙂 A step up from the old frame, for sure. 😉 I featured it today!

    Thanks so much for joining my Weekend Bloggy Reading party. Hope you’ll visit me at Serenity Now again soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

