The Better Egg

18 Apr

I started with this…I don’t know where I got it, but every year it comes out with the Easter decorations and I usually end up putting it back in the box because it’s not really my style and I have no idea where to put it…

But this year, I just couldn’t bring myself to do that. I either had to do something with it, or it was time to pass it on to someone that might be able to use it. So I thunk and thunk. I figured anything was better than it was, so I decided to go the decoupage route, even though I’ve never decoupaged anything bigger than a clothespin in my life. Now on a mission, I got some paper I liked and my paper cutter…

And starting cutting 1 by 4 inch strips…

And I decoupaged away. It came out pretty good…but it still needed something else, so I got out some green ink and glitter glue…

I tried to antique up the edges of the paper, but the decoupage glue made it kind of difficult. So I moved on to painting a coat of the glitter glue all over my magical sphere…I was getting closer, but it was still a little plain…time to go through my ribbon stash…

I wrapped a short strip of each ribbon around the egg. It was pretty, but STILL not quite there…Next it was on to rummaging through my stickers and gathering up some buttons and rhinestones…

And because it seems I always find a way to miss one picture in whatever process I am trying to show, just imagine some flower stickers, off white buttons and green rhinestones sitting on my table. 🙂

I stuck stickers on and glued away. Ooohhh…I knew I was getting somewhere now…One more finishing touch and maybe I’ll finally be happy…A little Happy Easter tag…

And with all that build up…
I present to you…
The Better Egg…
drum roll please…

Ain’t she pretty? So much more me. 🙂

And here she is, sitting on my Easter shelf…one more empty space filled in…

This is one good egg! 🙂

Enjoy the Party!
Heidi

Leave a Reply

