Paula Deen’s Pound Cake – Yum!

25 Apr

I’ve been craving pound cake lately…I have no idea why, it isn’t something I generally eat. I’d say rarely, if ever. But for some reason I’ve had pound cake on the brain for the last week or so.

Since I seldom eat it, I had no go to recipes I could pull from to appease my craving. So what was I to do? Surf the web, of course! After perusing several recipes, I settled on Paula Deen’s Mama’s Pound Cake recipe, which I found over at the Food Network.

The ingredients are basic, which is great, since it meant I had everything I needed in the house already. I wouldn’t call it a quick recipe, though. There is lots of mix this, then add this, mix some more, add some more, until my (what I thought was a) large bowl was filled to the brim.

Poured it into a bundt pan and popped it in the oven. The aroma from the cake baking was divine. Once it was done, I removed it from the pan and sifted some powdered sugar on top.

When it was time to enjoy the fruits of my labor, I made up some easy whipped cream and cut up some strawberries I had in the fridge.

Oh my goodness…this cake was delicious! Sweet, but not overwhelming. Dense, but not heavy. And the whipped cream and strawberries gave it that extra kick! This recipe is definitely a keeper, and I’ll be making this again for my next brunch.


Enjoy the Party!
Heidi

Leave a Reply

