Spring Banner

29 Apr


With another wonderful Easter over, I figured it was time for me to swap out my banner hanging in the kitchen to something else…I have plans for a sunny yellow banner come Summertime, but needed something to get me through the rest of Spring…

This is what I came up with:

I had some pretty scrapbook paper that I cut into flower shapes with my Circut. Then I punched smaller flower shapes out with various punches.

To make them I little more interesting, I pleated some blue crepe paper and glued it behind the smaller flowers then chalked the edges of the white flowers with some green and yellow glittery chalk.

I had some pastel green chipboard letters that I got ages ago from the Target dollar section.  I wasn’t crazy about the contrast so I glittered them in pretty pink (you can see a little of the green on the edges if you look REALLY CLOSE)…

I punched holes in each flower and strung them on white satin ribbon.  Then I looked through my assortment of ribbon and found some other coordinating ones that I cut into smaller strips and knotted between each letter.

Once I hung it up, I decided it needed a little more oomph, so I added some flower and dragonfly stickers, as well as silver rhinestones randomly on each letter.

All in all, I like it.  I feel like the pretty scrapbook paper isn’t really getting its due, since it’s hidden behind everything else, but I’m not about to go back and change it – too many other things on my plate at the moment. 🙂

As a side note, Spring seems to have decided that it is finally time to stick around for a while here in the Northeast – thank goodness!  Some of the crazy weather folks are experiencing across other parts of the U.S. at the moment is incredible – and scary – I watch the news in awe of the pictures and hope and pray for the safety of all.
Leave a Reply

