Autumn Falling Leaves

24 Oct

In honor of all the leaves falling around these parts, I decided to create an Autumn wall hanging:

I started by creating a big rosette then layered on additional patterned circles, some scalloped, some plain, until I thought it looked interesting.

Then it was time to embellish. I cut the word Autumn and the shadow background using my Cricut then stuck it on using dimensional squares. I stamped a little flourish under the Autumn and added some gold bling. The green pearls around the outer scalloped circle started out a light gray, which I wasn’t crazy about, so I colored them using a green Copic marker.

When I was playing with the size I wanted the hanging leaves to be, I cut a couple of tiny leaves that I decided to add on so they didn’t go to waste. What looks like the sun rising from behind the word Autumn is a tag I cut and stuck on at the last minute for a little more visual interest – as if there wasn’t enough going on here already!

The leaves and acorns are definitely my favorite part!
I cut them out using my Cricut, one layer of patterned paper and a duplicate one in chipboard, which I glued together, then antiqued.

I hot glued twine to the back of each leaf and then between layers of the upper part.

I’m already thinking what else I might be able to incorporate these leaves and acorns into! A little garland may be in order!

Here’s hoping you are enjoying all the pretty fall foliage these days too!

Enjoy the Party!

Wanna know where I party? Check it out!

2 Responses to “Autumn Falling Leaves”

  1. Katie October 25, 2012 at 11:23 pm #

    I love your cute fall decor! The layers are really fun and the sparkle is a nice touch! Thank you for sharing with us on A Crafty Soiree.

    • Heidi October 30, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

      Thanks for the compliment Katie! I love A Crafty Soiree and get lots of crafty inspiration from there!

Leave a Reply

