Christmas Joy Blocks

2 Dec

I picked up some initial blocks at a church fair recently, figuring I could revamp them into something fun…

My pictures are never the best – a photographer I am not – but this Before shot takes the cake…I took it with my phone when I realized I was getting started without sharing the Before. 🙂

IMAG0068

And here is the new and improved After:

IMG_9174a

I started by ripping off the canvas that was on each block (you can see the one I had already completed in the Before shot), then had the pleasure of removing all the sticky goo that was left behind. After that fun job I painted the edges of all the blocks with white craft paint.

IMG_9179a

I added a variety of Christmas themed paper to each side of the blocks, then painted some more, this time overlapping the paper. Once that was dry I sanded every thing to distress it just a little bit…

IMG_9176a

Time to add the doilies. J-O-Y was cut with my Cricut and attached to their respective blocks…

IMG_9177a

A few pearls added to each letter…Then it was time to give them each their own distinctive embellishments with an assortment of Christmas stickers…

IMG_9178a

For the trim around the sides, I hot glued a couple of laces together, then hot glued that around each block…

IMG_9190a

Finally, it was time to stand back and check out my handiwork…

IMG_9183a

I am in love! 🙂

Supplies:
Wooden blocks – church fair
White Paint – Plaid
Papers – Crate Paper Peppermint paper pad, Bazzill Basics
Doilies – from my stash
J-O-Y – Cricut Storybook cartridge
Stickers – Jolee’s Boutique Snowflakes , Martha Stewart Cottage Christmas Ornament, Sandylion Christmas Words
Pearls – Queen & Co.
Lace – Wyla, Wrights

Enjoy the Party!

Wanna know where I party? Check it out!

4 Responses to “Christmas Joy Blocks”

  1. Cherilyn December 3, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    Your blocks are so pretty!

    • Deb December 3, 2012 at 10:26 am #

      Love Love them….nice job..

  2. Michele December 3, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    Those are so cute! I saw them on Cricut MB and had to stop by to check them out.

  3. Angela December 5, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    These turned out so pretty!

Leave a Reply

