You Mean the World to Me

11 Feb

The Blizzard of 2013 was upon us…

I was home from work and the kids were home from school ALL DAY (and the next few as well)

I had done the necessary essential grocery shopping in case we were snowed in for days…Cooking and baking (to feed my helpless children) was done…

I cleaned the house and folded loads upon loads of laundry (once again those helpless children)

I couldn’t take it anymore…I had to do something creative before I went stir crazy!

I have an old Atlas that I bought when we were hosting my son’s Vintage School themed graduation party (I bet you can guess that he DID NOT pick the theme)…I used the colorful maps to make banners, pinwheels, flags, etc…I thought they were awesome…my son was horribly offended that I would even think of defacing a treasured book in such a way…(I still went about my merry way and he had amazing decorations for the party!)

Here’s one shot of some of the decor if you’re so inclined: Vintage school themed party decor

Now snowbound, those pretty maps in that shabby Atlas were calling to me again…

I sat contently on the couch for the next little bit cutting hearts of varied sizes out of one of the pages…

Now I was in deep…I was committed…I had to do something with them…

Hence the birth of yet another set of Valentines…aptly titled You Mean the World to Me…

IMG_9404a

But really, the beauty of these cards is they can be used anytime you just want to let someone know how much you appreciate them…

IMG_9405a

IMG_9410a

IMG_9407a

IMG_9420a

I think this one is my favorite:

IMG_9419a

Do you have an old shabby atlas hanging out on a bookshelf…or even a new map out in your glove compartment? (Does anyone still keep maps in there?)

Then you pretty much have what you need to make one of these too!

The beauty of these is that you can be as simple or get as fancy as you want…I started out pretty simple, and kept adding more and more fluff with each progressive card…

And if you need a little help, here is the sentiment I made to add to each of my cards…

You Mean the World to Me

So get going…there must be someone that means the world to you too!

Enjoy the Party!

Wanna know where I party? Check it out!

2 Responses to “You Mean the World to Me”

  1. ThriftDee February 11, 2013 at 6:51 pm #

    This is a great idea! I could use different parts of the map for family living abroad!

  2. Michelle February 12, 2013 at 5:35 pm #

    What wonderful cards! I love all things vintage. And these cards are awesome. I clicked on that link you provided and I ADORE those fun pinwheels. Too cute! I saw it on the Make it Monday site and I’m glad that I did! I hope you’re not snowed in for too long. Have a great day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

