A Pumpkin Makeover

24 Oct

Last fall my husband brought home a wooden pumpkin he had rescued from a creek after a rain storm…

The pumpkin was filthy from being in the mud and underneath the dirt it was painted a horrific bright orange…

He said he thought I could do something with it…

It was homemade, had good bones, wasn’t totally waterlogged, and I liked the way the pumpkin “face” looked like beadboard….

So I saved it…

That’s me, always saving the stuff others (aka normal people) throw away…

Poor things that end up at the bottom of a creek!

After close to a year’s wait, I pulled it out of my “To do” stash and decided the timing was right to give it a new lease on life…

tlotp-FallPumpkin1

No more hideous orange…
It took several coats of white paint to finally wipe it out…
I added some pretty fall papers…
Sanded a little…
Then completely freaked out when some of the orange started coming through…
Distress Ink to the rescue…sure enough it subdued the beastly hue…

tlotp-FallPumpkin2

Added the flowers and acorns…
A pretty pearly flourish…
Spelled out FALL on one panel…
And finally tied some jute around the stem…

tlotp-FallPumpkin3

And now I think she is as pretty as can be!

So tell me…
Do you have a crafting stash where you put stuff that should probably go in the trash, but you know you can do something with it?
How long does stuff usually hang out there?
Do you think my endeavor was worth it?
Inquiring minds want to know!

Enjoy the Party!

Wanna know where I party? Check it out!

Leave a Reply

