Pinterest Inspired DIY Pumpkin Collage

3 Nov

I have had this picture on my DIY Inspiration board on Pinterest for what seems like forever…

Believe it or not, this pretty little thing costs $116! Is that crazy or what?!

AppleCollage

Hence the reason it was on my DIY Inspiration board…

As pretty as she is, there was no way I was forking over the cash for her…

But I was pretty confident I could come up with something similar myself for a whole lot less

I finally decided it was time to tackle this challenge…

And with the current season in mind, I thought I’d change it up and use pumpkins instead…

PumpkinCollage

I painted up a 12×12 canvas with off white craft paint and inked the edges a little…

PumpkinCollage2

Then picked out some pretty autumn toned papers and went about cutting out all the pumpkins with my Cricut…

PumpkinCollage3

Super easy to glue together and onto the canvas…

PumpkinCollage4

I probably spent more time rearranging the pumpkins to make sure the colors were evenly distributed than doing anything else!

PumpkinCollage5

I really like the way it came out…

But I keep wondering if it is calling out for a little more…

I sometimes have issues knowing when to stop 🙂

What do you think? Does she need a little more oomph?

For the moment, she is basking in all her simple glory…

And I will wait to see if she continues to speak to me…

Okay, that sounds kind of like I am a crazy paper lady…

But not crazy enough to spend $116 when I can make it myself!

Enjoy the Party!

Wanna know where I party? Check it out!

4 Responses to “Pinterest Inspired DIY Pumpkin Collage”

  1. Julie November 4, 2013 at 3:34 am #

    I love these kind of pictures, I’ve made several over the years, hearts, butterflys etc, I’ve never seen pumpkins – they are lovely! And the 3D ness of them, very clever, and I love your choice of patterns/colours.

    • Heidi November 4, 2013 at 9:26 am #

      Thanks Julie! Glad you liked it! After making this one and realizing just how easy it was, I can definitely see myself making more…maybe trees or ornaments for Christmas!

  2. Chelsea November 4, 2013 at 9:02 pm #

    This is beautiful! I would never spend that much on anything for my walls haha. I like your pumpkins better than those apples anyway!

    • Heidi November 4, 2013 at 10:04 pm #

      Thanks Chelsea! I totally agree, no way I could bring myself to spend that kind of money for a frame and pretty paper! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

